• Inbound Marketing
  • certified
  • Subscribe – Blog

  • Subscribe – Audio

  • Share this blog

    Bookmark and Share
  • Blog Archives

  • Blog Categories

  • Translate this blog into different languages…

Help Me Readers: Is This Company Real?

Smart Home Systems is the company name. I got an email offering an interesting position. Let me give you some specifics.

Position Information:

  1. Location: for United States residents only; no relocation required
  2. Salary/Wage: we have a salary range of USD 32,000 to USD 55,000/plus per year
  3. Job Status: Full Time/Part Time/Temporary/Contract
  4. Job Category: Customer Service

What We Offer:

  1. Supportive working environment in a dynamic, successful company
  2. Freedom to be creative, and the satisfaction of personal responsibility
  3. Strategic employee career development
  4. Individual continuing education and training opportunities
  5. Performance-based salary structures

Home Base:
Based upon the above information, I responded that I might be interested. They sent back an application form, with the following information header:

Dufourstrasse 29
8001 Zurich
Switzerland
Phone: +41 (44) 58 62 353
Fax: +41 (44) 73 26 957

What’s Wrong With This Picture?

Let’s first go to the website http://smarthome-syst.net/ and see what it says. It says, “It’s under construction.” Next I did a Who Is inquiry at http://is.gd/2ys1s, and I find these results:

  1. The domain contact and address is private.
  2. The company identified as the Current Registrar is COMMUNIGAL COMMUNICATIONS LTD of CHINA-SHANGHAI.

Now I’m totally confused. If the company has a headquarters in Switzerland, how come the US website is registered to a Chinese company, with a different name?  How come all the address information is confidential?

But the mystery doesn’t end there. I did have a US number and I contacted a female, who spoke with a foreign accent. She said the company had a US office in New York. However – the company name for China, Switzerland and the US, are totally different.

I performed a search on the Better Business Bureau, for the US site. This is what I discovered at http://is.gd/2wNWR. The company has no ratings and had 4 complaints against them, which have been closed. The company is not rated by the BBB.

Finally, I decided to contact the Swiss consulate regarding the offer. You see, they don’t ask for anything on the employment form, except for 3 references. Excuse me? Isn’t employment a more comprehensive process on both sides? I did get the English-speaking business section, of the Swiss consulate in Chicago. Then I forwarded the email and application to them. I need to follow up and see if they discovered anything.

What do you make of this mystery, dear readers?

Should I consult Hercule Poirot, Sherlock Holmes, Charlie Chan, Adrian Monk, or Detective Columbo? Is this a ploy for a foreign government to kidnap me? Is this some prelude to an alien invasion? If you have any Intel on this company, please share it with me.

Randy

Blog: http://b2b-techcopy.net
Business: http://b2b-techcopy.com

P.S.  Here is the 1 hour video presentation on “Twitter for Small Business at http://is.gd/2G2mi.  This is similar to the audio presentation from the last blog.  Please note they only pitch stuff the last 10 minutes.

2 Responses

  1. I’d go with Poirot. No, no, wait, I’d go with Holmes.

    Sounds like a scam to me. Just be careful.

    • Easton:

      Here’s the reply I received from the Swiss consulate:

      “Thank you for your inquiry. As you probably found out by checking out Smart Home Sys. on Google, the company is highly suspicious. I also checked the Swiss Commercial Registry, where the company cannot be found. I strongly suspect this is a scam and would encourage you not to give out any personal information due to the possibility of identity theft.”

      Randy

Leave a Reply